Luzonensis Bop-Bop-Bop-Bop-Bop-Bop-Bop x 10^105

From: Paradise To: Inquiry Subject: meanwhile, back in the land of not being at all surprised.. Date: Tuesday, April 16, 2019 13:52

On Thu, Apr 11, 2019, at 08:54, Typing Practice wrote:

Re: meanwhile, back in the land of not being at all surprised.. https://science.slashdot.org/story/19/04/10/238252/new-human-species-f= ound-in-philippines

Holy shit, what?

So my great 10^105 grandmother was Homo Luzonensis. I know one of my nea= r blood relatives is from the island of Luzon, though right now? I can't= remember who.

I dunno bud, this article surprises me.

I didn't think anything cool ever came out of The Philippines. EVER. Not= even Surf Ninjas.

Love that you're still reading /. — That's like so totally 1999-2001. W= hatever happened to those years? Did you ever read x-entertainment? Wasn= 't it awesome? Life then is completely not different to life now. Social= media is still the same, too – different platforms – same idea.=20

Yellow journalism, and now yellow sensationalistic personal journalism –= still the dominant form of communication.=20

Its like this rampant insecurity that people can't STAND to live as they= are, be as they are, be loved as they are... They're always apologizing= for themselves and crafting flawless avatars and characters for other a= vatars and characters to fake love (like fake news)=20

Real news takes years to mine.=20

Real love takes years to create (or seconds, depending on what timescale= you're on or how badly you've recovered-or-not from traumatic events)=20=

You know what I love? Slow form science papers. Lots of people sitting a= lone, typing into their computers, inputting data for their AI to help t= hem crunch, augmenting each other in splendid ways to simply make the wo= rld around them better. In some way. I love hearing about that. I love h= earing about moonshots, and not just because moonshots themselves are in= teresting nor inspiring, but because the minutae of figuring those thing= s out create more efficient ways to route data from one place to another= , and therefore connect disparate people who otherwise wouldn't have bee= n connected.=20

Like primordial Homo Sapiens from Africa to Homo Luzonenses from The Phi= lippines, separated by thousands land, sea, mountains and sooooooo many = saber toothed tigers.=20

Work is just gorgeous. It's boring, it's repetitive, it's gorgeous.=20

But why can't I clean my house? (This one still stumps me.) Maybe it has= something to do with SOUND. (But I can't yet figure out what)


So I miss your emails in my inbox! I've been drought for bit, and now it= 's like.... what do I respond to? I suppose I walk over to your write.as= and pull some bits from there, and that's what I do now. I'm not fully = there yet.=20

The concept of strangers reading my thoughts, and not just my inbox budd= y, gives me a silent editor striking whole swaths out of my thoughts bef= ore they'd ever reach my fingers. The kind of editor that is inbuilt, no= t an afterthought, backspacing dumb ideas after-the-fact (though there's= a lot of that here, too, what the fuck!) or folding more marshmallowy g= oodness into the mixing bowl after a taste or two has gone down the hatc= h.=20

So it's a very thinkpol overlay to my otherwise free-range consciousness= .=20

But...=20

Isn't it odd?=20

The idea of free-range?=20

The animals (us) are still penned up, you know..... Just.... with vastly= further borders.=20

Ah, the trappings of the mind.=20

On Thu, Apr 11, 2019, at 07:30, Typing Practice wrote:

Re: as usual, don't know if it's bs, but it sounds interesting and/or = tenable http://www.sci-news.com/medicine/inspiratory-muscle-strength-training-= blood-pressure-brain-07077.html

Dude, when a flog presents its advertisement headlines in 14pt bold on t= he right hand column higher than its “native” content then you should kn= ow by then you have some bullshit on your hands. Something CHEAP or FREE= (breathing) that someone (breathing machine apparatus maker) is trying = to legitimize by placing on a blog (affiliate referral machine) that has= the word SCIENCE (religion) in the headline (don't-make-me-think) =3D M= ONEY.=20

Or maybe

I wasn't thinking and this is the next new (old, 1980s) thing.=20

But I mean... Okay... it costs like 30-100k to do one of these universit= y studies. Universities are always hard up for cash and love dropping th= eir panties for commercial interests. It's a symbiosis (scam) that works= out for both of them, but dicks over regular joes like yous and mes bec= ause we are so automatically conditioned to think University Good, Scams= Bad. University Smart. University All-Knowing. Trust University. So the= se commercial joes with their breathing device, or pill, or treadmill, o= r cream, or red-light-emitting-fat-blasting-diode go to University-that-= will-say-yes-to-money and then find a copywriter-who-also-says-yes-to-mo= ney to write it all up for their websites.=20

That said, okay, lung capacity, breathing, building up your lung strengt= h is a good thing. Of course it reduces blood pressure. Of course it's l= ikely good for you. I know I get high as balls simply counting my breath= s, so imagining this in a mechanized, weaponized, exercised way stimulat= es my=20

So I mean.... Load up a vapor cartridge that graffiti artists wear and i= ncrease resistance by cutting and adding enough carbon filters that its = a huge chore to breathe in. Boom. You have your lung resistance and you'= re breathing clean as sparkling fuck air. Do this til you're lightheaded= and heavy chested. I imagine you're simulating the same thing these NOB= LE SCIENTISTS have “FIGURED OUT” and you're only out $15, opposed to wha= tever they're hocking there. Not that it's not a bad idea and you totall= y should shell out money to people when they make inventions, otherwise = the economic world collapses. I don't know man. You speak with your mone= y. Speak. or Don't.=20

On Thu, Apr 11, 2019, at 07:45, Typing Practice wrote:

Re: everyone needs a hero http://tiny-giant-books.com/Entry1.html?EntryId=3DrecgcpfuOFUesUpRy

I loved this one!=20

2009! WRITTEN ORIG IN 2009!=20

Honestly I think it's simple, required reading for a lot of the young on= es out there these days. Mine included. Self included. Self deluded.=20

Right? We're all sped up and hijacked, dopamine bombed out, no one can d= eal with their own neurochemistry anymore. Me-me-me-want-want-want. Earn= ing something was something completely different “back in the day”. It's= interesting to peer into the forces that made that.=20

You=E2=80=99d think that people would be pretty quick to recognize tha= t opiates were a problem, but that=E2=80=99s not how it actually happene= d. It took decades of zonked out Civil War vets, housewives who were so = stoned they couldn=E2=80=99t walk around the house, and professional doc= tors and lawyers =E2=80=93 professionals =E2=80=93 who were completely u= nable to perform for people to take notice. What finally drove change wa= s the fact that life then was much more time-intensive. Nobody cared if = you spent your days zonked out, but if you didn=E2=80=99t plant your cro= ps and your family was starving the community had to step in whether it = wanted to or not.

And a passing thought while I was reading.... 1930s depression, sure the= re was the 20s alcohol ban, but when was all the fallout from the 1910s = opioid crisis in full bloom? The Depression?=20

I thought this was also a very telling passage:=20

That means that music, instead of getting more and more complex and in= tricate, is now evolving along a different line. It=E2=80=99s sonic evol= ution: survival of the fittest. Music competes with all sorts of other t= hings for your attention. For a song to make money, it has to cut throug= h the clutter and instill in you a =E2=80=9Cquick hit=E2=80=9D of someth= ing that feels good. That=E2=80=99s why rock-n-roll and other drum-heavy= music beat out the big bands. In general, the beat wins out over the tu= ne. I can hear a guy playing hip-hop coming from 200 yards away. The bea= t cuts through the sonic clutter. Creating music now is a survival of th= e fittest contest. The goal is to take a mind engaged in something else,= capture its attention, and =E2=80=9Cturn it on=E2=80=9D to some cool gr= ooves and lyrics for a while. The more you can engage distracted listene= rs and the happier they feel, the better the music.

Dude, we've been batting back and forth for years about music-is-drugs a= nd how much I climb up the walls at hideous sonic textures in public spa= ces.=20

Paradise: I started listening to ASMR train rides, just 35 minutes of someone rea= l-time recording their journey from Barcelona to London or something And I find the whole narrative 100% relaxing Because its a story. It has a beginning, middle, and end, but no one di= es, no one is hurt, everything is just a-ok Nothing is forced Its just something that is happening, you feel anticipation, a climax a= t some point, and some gentle movement the way through Friend of Paradise: The 2nd too cause like I haven=E2=80=99t tried binaural beats for focus= yet like for day time and I been thinking there must be something good = for that Cause regular music is actually distracting Paradise: YES I KNOW regular music is distracting Friend of Paradise: It=E2=80=99s over stimulating and I=E2=80=99ll stop and just listen to = music cause it=E2=80=99s like an activity that requires all my attention=

Like tv Paradise: I will send you a binaural app... theres a bit of experimentation you w= ill have to do for yourself personally before you find the absolute corr= ect beat Friend of Paradise: Yea I feel weird cause I=E2=80=99m a music person and most ppl listen t= o music in the background like Sarah was constantly blasting music but m= usic is emotional=20 Paradise: I am so happy you are mentioning this because I forgot about that The lofi radio fortunately is the perfect background Yes agree on music Friend of Paradise: It=E2=80=99s like I=E2=80=99m cycling thru too many emotions sometimes Makes me feel bipolar haha Paradise: Its positive, its chill, it doesn=E2=80=99t require much of your attent= ion because it isn=E2=80=99t intrusive... its just like hanging out with= a friend you are fucking aok with Yeah, I have these conversations all the time. I was just talking to [r= edacted] on Saturday about the emotional residues from musiks, and how I= can=E2=80=99t go to [redacted] without having a detailed political disc= ussion, borderline triggering psychosis because of the Muzak™ they se= lect Musical pollution is 100% real and 100% penetrating, attacking to a bra= inrhythm like mine

And omfg, there was this other argument I made the other day, nearly thr= owing my slipper at my projector wall while listening to a quantum theor= y lecture.=20

The universe is devolving into chaos, they say. As though these are cert= ain facts.=20

But like

Look at life

Flowers. Robots (robots are life, shut up). Foxes. The company that haul= s and sorts your refuse. Digestive systems.

Are we all not just working along, making our respective corners of the = universe more orderly and beautiful?

Is this not the point of our (collective) lives?=20

(Isn't this embedded in the Rama teachings? At least that's basically on= e of the only items I picked up when I visited the Krshna temple on Sund= ay... that “heaven is beauty”. Beauty is orderly. and this is where it a= ll misces together.on itself.)=20

Or is this just too fucking simplistic a thought?=20

It's not like forests are the most orderly thing. Mycelium networks are = as complex as the human brain are as complex as dark matter networks are= as complex the universe itself.=20

Maybe we just don't see the METAPATTERN, right, so it's not immediately = apparent that this whole beautiful Thing is not chaotic at all, but very= very very orderly, systemic.=20

Yeah man. It's orderly. Systemic. What the fuck... chaos.... is order...= . An order without any other name.=20

Anyway. So that's the thing.=20

—=20 .:~:..:~:..:~:..:~:..:~:..:~:..:~:..:~:..:~:..= :~:. published not proofread. #NeverLookBackspace! Words, Ideas, Magic copyri= ghted by Zem at BeTheFuture. this is confidential communication. Protect= ed by US and International law.