Strangers on a Train on the Internet

Is it you, or me, but, who here thinks that Distracted Musings and Dino should totally get together and mastermind?

Distracto:

I’m surprisingly exhausted these days. Things at work are getting pretty busy and it seems like I don’t have time to just organize my work. Think about my work. Do a brainstorm. Take notes.

It’s all so rushed!

Maybe it’s me. I’m not giving myself enough breathing time.

Somedays I notice that I haven’t drank enough water. Or that I didn’t get up to use the washroom so many times. Am I being trapped into the busyness trend? I don’t want to become a workaholic!

I set up a recurring event in my Calendar at 4:30pm to remind me to: Wrap up work. But I’ve been so busy and overwhelmed lately that I don’t stop at 4:30pm to reflect on my day. I just go on and when I see it it’s past 5pm and almost everybody left the office.

I will remember to practice more mindfulness tomorrow. The mystery is: how to be mindful when I am stretched thin?

I’ll try.

Dino:

He said that I was a working dad, but yet I was still finding time to play some video games.

I guess I never really thought about it before. How am I actually finding extra time to play video games? I can give you one tip. I have no social media apps on my phone, except for the LinkedIn app which I hardly check. I’m not looking for new work anyway.

I have messaging apps like FB Messenger, which is how I chat with my friends, but I do not have Facebook or Twitter on my phone. My Facebook account has been deactivated for probably half a year now. I also recently deactivated my Twitter account, though I was never really active on it.

The only social media app that I cannot let go is Instagram. But even that is limited only to weekends. I install it on weekends so I can browse my curated feed and maybe post something, but on Sunday night or Monday morning, it gets deleted off my phone.

It is simply amazing how much extra time I found I had, once I stopped wasting all of it browsing never ending newsfeeds.

Snicker snicker snicker.

It's like one responded to the other.

Without even knowing it.

Ever imagine that?

One person on the train texting a friend for some help

While another person on the train is texting another friend offering wisdom on the same help?

That's this.

It's cool to just witness it.

I'm sharing it so you can witness the miracle, too. Hehe.

Also, note to Distracted:

Get a Fitbit. It reminds you to get up at :50 of every hour, AND gives you a little CHEERLEADING PUMP when you do. You use this time to get up, pee, fix tea, go check on things, and then get back refreshed. Tellin' ya. Lifesaver. Sure Apple Watches are cool, but this particular bit, I tell ya. Leave it on for days and let it work for you. Apples you charge all the time and are distraction monsters. Good to have dead simple tools sometimes.

All right. Back to my coloring book.

Another day in, Paradise

— .:~:..:~:..:~:..:~:..:~:..:~:..:~:..:~:..:~:..:~:. published not proofread. #NeverLookBackspace! Words, Ideas, Magic copyrighted by Zem in Paradise. this is confidential communication. Protected by US and International law.