When someone neglects their “funsies” blog, you know either of two things.

  1. They are incredibly busy.
  2. They are incredibly not fucking busy.

Fortunately, I fall in #1's camp!

I'm #1, I'm a champ!

And it's all been self-propelled writing projects, oddly enough. I've been seriously considering charging more, especially after I've noticed upticks in sales after some tweaks and changes I'm making. Nothing like a sales uptick to give ya a little pep in the step.

Some of my best work pours into these commercial blogs I write. I finally feel comfortable with the commercial medium in a way I haven't before. Usually my pen is an (haha wait, I said penis) (fuck, now where was I? ah yes.) Usually, I write very Claude Hopkins-y propaganda pieces with a little too much reachy salesy feel. I mean, I love it and all, I wish Dave Ogilvy was my dad, y'know, but.

But.

But there's a time when you just need a good blog post that you relate to hardfuckingcore and feel elevated afterward. Everything I've been writing is cutting to that feeling.

I write like I sketch. I throw down the big paragraph forms to see what the whole picture is looking like, then I drill down and fill in the NUANCES. It's done live. I watch the shapes happen as I do it. As I practice the art of writing.

It's a beautiful textural mess.

Perfect chaos in 26 digits.

Text has its own TEXTure, it's own rhythm.

Text is music.

Text has a sound in your head. Everyone's sound is different. And isn't it amazing? Your reader reads it in their own voice. Their own comfortable self.

But you know what the underlying sameness is?

The power of the author's voice.

You can wield that power for amazing goodness.

You've successfully installed yourself in their brain!

And that's what I've been doing lately. I'm writing silly email titles like “humankindness” and.. well... I forgot other titles. But they're all top shelf, spontaneous little ditties like that. Spontaneous, fully immersed in the moment. With another person. Over text and time. Kinda like now. It's all inspired by real people, having real text conversations with me. Back and forth.

And its incredible to think that I'm having these intense personal connections with thousands of people at once.

I shiver!

Honestly, I just realized that. No kidding, right? 'Cause what's an email list or a blog post but 10,000 humans sitting in front of a screen, in their comfort zone, in their comfort time, absorbing the ideas and love from someone else on the planet.

I could string letters together from me to you Across a continent or two Maybe three If you'd just read me

(haha, I just made that up right now. See? It's a rhythm and a song! Tell me you didn't somehow sing that in your mind's ear!)

That's all I have for now. Hope it was a useful read for you, and it gave you some nuance into a stranger's writing process. I hope too that you can take that nuance and make something really beautiful with it.

Textural flowers to you!

wWWWw wWWWw vVVVv () wWWWw () vVVVv () ~Y~ () vVVVv ~Y~ () ~Y~ | ~Y~ () |/ ~Y~ | \ |/ | / ~Y~/ | \ |/ \|// \|// \|/// \|// \|// \|/// ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Ascii art by Joan G. Stark

Just wow. — .:~:..:~:..:~:..:~:..:~:..:~:..:~:..:~:..:~:..:~:. published not proofread. #NeverLookBackspace! Words, Ideas, Magic copyrighted by Zem at BeTheFuture. this is confidential communication. Protected by US and International law.